Full Reviews of Marine Diesel Basics 1

My sincere thanks to everyone who has taken time to write a review of the book.

Here are the full reviews, some of which have been published elsewhere on this website in slightly abbreviated form.

 

Nautique Oct 2017 cover
Dutch magazine Nautigue review of Marine Diesel Basics 1

Dutch sailing magazine Nautique review  November 2017

Extract in English:

"The enormous amount of useful information is divided into three parts: keeping your engine running, preparing for the winter stop, and preparing the weather for the new season. By part the author describes step by step what needs to be done; The accompanying illustrations make the book a very helpful reference work...everything is covered. Is your understanding of English good, and do you get a little bit of how a diesel engine works? Then you need nothing else than this e-book to give your (engine) a long and grunting life."

Full review in Dutch:

"Marine Diesel Basics is uitgegeven in eigen beheer. Dat maakt het book niet minder uitgebreid en compleet, maar wel iets minder overzichtelijk. De enorme hoeveelheid nuttige informative is onderverdeeld in drie delen: het lopend houden van je motor, het klaarmaken voor de winterstop, en het weer klaarmaken voor het nieuwe seizoen. Per deel beschrijft de auteur stap voor stap wat er moet gebeuren; de bijgevoegde illustraties maken het boek tot een erg behulpzaam naslagwerk. Van saildrives tot impellers, van V-snaren tot antivries, en van carter tot brandstoffilter: alles komt aan bod. Ben je het Engels machtig en snap je een beetje hoe een dieselmotor werkt? Dan heb je niets anders nodig dan dit e-boek om je motor een lang en knorrend leven te geven."

 

Nautical Mind blog cover

Blog post of Nautical Mind, Canada's nautical bookstore  November 2017     Go to blog

Here at the Nautical Mind, we have books written by all kinds of perspectives. Many of our books are by experts like Nigel Calder and are filled with technical details. Others, like the book I’m going to talk about today, are the the product of hard experience, but are written for those without advanced technical training. Marine Diesel Basics by Dennison Berwick is a brilliant book that should be part of the boat’s library for everybody Canadian sailor who has a diesel engine aboard their boat.

Dennison Berwick is an experienced Canadian sailor, and this book is borne of his hard-won experience aboard Oceandrifter. This book specifically targets many aspects of diesel engines, from ongoing maintenance, to winterization, re-commissioning in the spring, and preparation for long-term storage. It is very specifically targeted to diesel engines- and doesn’t cover other topics. But this is absolutely fine because this should be the only book on diesel engines most people should need. Frankly, it seems that if there issues you can’t address with this book, they are probably ones that you should seek professional mechanical help for anyways.

For day-to-day maintenance, and for the seasonal maintenance requirements, this book is really well laid out. It considers the diesel engine as a system. The book is divided into three main sections: Maintenance, Lay-Up, and Recommissioning, and each section contains many individual processes.

Although this book doesn’t have many photographs, each process has a number of illustrations. These, for example, show the reader what the process they’re doing will generally look like. And further, visual clues of good things and bad things to look for. When it comes to maintenance for example, it provides examples of both what is to be expected, and then lists of alternatives and necessary actions.

Although it may seem like a minor thing, each process details all the equipment needed- including for cleaning up before and after. This kind of attention to detail will make this book ideal for those who are not especially experienced and yet are entirely capable of maintaining their engines themselves

Overall, this book is highly recommended for anybody who has a diesel engine aboard their boat.

click to enlarge

Australian Sailing magazine, Oct-Nov 2017

Although the title of this book includes the word “basics” it is a very, very comprehensive coverage of the subject. Even if you’re the type of boat owner who likes to call in the experts, this is an excellent book to have on board in case anything goes wrong. And if you like to be across everything on your boat that moves – and even some things that shouldn’t – then this is as good a guide as you’ll get. The book covers not just the engine itself, but all associated parts – the fuel system, lubrication, cooling, breathing, electrical and drive train. The author’s excellent illustrations (there are more than 300 of them) make understanding the text very easy. Every single step of regular maintenance, trouble- shooting, laying up and recommissioning are covered. I particularly liked the structure of this book. Each chapter starts with “Main Concerns”, which tells you what can go wrong and why. It is followed by a task list, with each step carefully explained and illustrated. Highly recommended.

Cover of Quebec Yachting magazine fall 2017
Review of Marine diesel Basics 1 in Quebec Yachting fall 2017

Québec Yachting  fall 2017

Vous cherchez des informations sur les systèmes de propulsion marine au diesel ? Ce livre comprenant plus de 300 illustrations, dont l’auteur est un navigateur et un mécanicien marin, vous explique de manière claire et simple comment installer, entretenir, vérifier, inspecter et prévenir d’éventuels problèmes. Vous en apprendrez beaucoup grâce à ses conseils sur l’entretien, l’essence, la lubrification, le refroidissement, l’aération, l’électricité et la transmission). Vous obtiendrez également des renseignements sur la préparation de votre système pour l’hiver et sur le remisage dans un endroit tropical où il fait chaud et humide.
Vous souhaitez bien préparer votre système au diesel avant le début de la saison de navigation afin de vous assurer qu’il sera fiable et que vous n’aurez pas de problème? Vous trouverez des explications sur toutes les pièces, des listes d’outils dont vous aurez besoin, autant pour effectuer une réparation sur un voilier, un bateau à moteur, une petite embarcation ou un sail-drive. Le refroidissement direct ou indirect de votre moteur diesel n’aura plus de secrets pour vous!

Translation of last sentence: "(Whether) direct or indirect cooled, your diesel engine will have no secrets for you".

"Very instructional and comprehensive book"   R. Nelson, posted on amazon.com, September 27th, 2017 5-stars

Mr. Berwick's book is full of clear, concise procedures for all the maintenance jobs that need to be done on a Diesel-engined boat, with hints for making the jobs easier and avoiding problems. He has created many clear illustrations for understanding the tasks needed, with a list of tools and supplies required for each job. And his cautionary tales are also very instructive. I recommend his book to every sailor who wants to develop independence and confidence for maintaining her/ his boat for them selves..

Very useful, practical and to the point, a must on every boat. Good job Capt Berwick !! Write some more books."  Hristo Papakonstantopoulos, posted on amazon.com July 30, 2017. 5-stars

"Your book went down a storm earlier in the week with my students..."

Richard Caves, C Power Training, Scotland, private message to author, June 30, 2017.

"Just what I needed..."

Amazon customer, posted on amazon.com, June 14, 2017. 5-stars

Just what I needed...
By Amazon Customer on June 14, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Excellent, clear, concise and easy to follow. Highly recommended 😁

"It's the book I wish I had four years ago"

Jase Kovacs, posted on Marine Diesel Basics Facebook page, May 19, 2017.

Everything I know about engines I've learned since I've had my boat. I spent most of the first year painfully out of my depth (boat puns lol), engine manual in one hand, google in the other, discovering that yelling "start you bastard" doesn't really work that well.

I'd done the RYA Diesel Maintenance course, which was half a day of "here's how to change your oil" - a course that really wasn't any help when I started dealing with real issues. On the other end of the spectrum were the bibles like Nigel Calder's "Marine Diesel Engines" - indepth tomes that were often poorly illustrated walls of text that assumed a level of knowledge I didn't yet possess.

What I needed was a mid level manual - preferably with loads of pictures! - to help me though that awkward adolescence of boat ownership where I made many painful mistakes.

I've had some excellent mentors but as far as reference materials go, I hadn't really found any pitched at that mid level. Until now.

Marine Diesel Basics is a fantastic Facebook page run by Canadian sailor Dennison Berwick that hits that sweet spot. He's just released a new book "Marine Diesel Basics" that I find far more accessible than the 'bibles', mostly due to its hundreds of simple, clear illustrations. Basically it's the book I wish I had four years ago and that's why I'm posting about it today."

 

"Thoughtfully well written and the illustrations make this topic accessible. I recommend it highly."
Amazon Customer
, posted on amazon.com May 18, 2017. 5-stars

Evidently marine diesel maintenance isn't that hard or scary.

By Christopher R. on May 18, 2017
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

Dennison Berwick challenges boat owners to stop being so intimidated by their diesel engines and to realize that basic maintenance is actually easy...but you have to do it. He's right of course and this message was written with me in mind; a non-marine professional recreational yacht owner. His pictures were instructive and his positive attitude was inspiring. I plan to immediately change my own attitude and perhaps even enhance my own boat enjoyment. It is thoughtfully well written and the illustrations make this topic accessible. I recommend it highly.

Great sailboat owner's book
By Amazon Customer on May 15, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book should be required reading for anyone responsible for the maintenance of their own boat. It details in simple drawings the best practices for maintaining, storing and recommissioning a boat. As the owner of an older boat, a 1972 CheoyLee Offshore 33, I spend a lot of time repairing and updating a lot of the hardware. I do all my own work, so I need to know what I am doing. This book has helped me compose to-do lists for haul out at hurricane season and before putting it back in the water. I recommend it to any boat owner but especially a sail boat owner who does their own maintenance.

"This book should be required reading for anyone responsible for the maintenance of their own boat"

Amazon Customer, posted on amazon.com May 15, 2017. 5-stars

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Back
Share
Share
Pin
Stumble
+1
Tweet